HEADstrong Unveils Honorary 40+ Roster To Complete At Lake Placid Summit Classic

PHILADELPHIA, PA. – The HEADstrong Foundation is announcing its honorary roster to play in the 30th anniversary of the Lake Placid Summit Classic, taking place this summer from August 5-11 in Lake Placid, New York. The 24 former collegiate athletes on the roster represent 14 different colleges, and they will be competing in the 40+ division.

HEADstrong, a benefactor of the Lake Placid Summit Classic, aims to raise awareness and funds for the Foundation while providing an experience to athletes and supporting charitable causes which align with the interests of these 24 athletes. Ultimately, the aim of HEADstrong sending this honorary team to Lake Placid is to bring people together for the cause to fight against cancer and help those affected by it.

Coach, organizer, and HEADstrong staff member Jeff Baxter said, “Pat McGee and I both started playing lacrosse in the early 90’s together in high school, and we’ve always had our sticks close by ever since. Both of us have been impacted by cancer, as we each lost a parent to the disease. We thought it would be cool to get a team full of friends, pick up our sticks together again, and play to help raise awareness to fight this disease.”

The team is on track to raise more than $10,000 and is seeking pledges to help the cause. You can make a donation to support their efforts by contributing to the team’s fundraising page here.

The roster for the HEADstrong squad headed to Lake Placid this summer is as follows:


Name Pos. College Currently Resides In
Pat Colleluori Coach West Chester University Exton, PA
Jeff Baxter Coach St. Joseph’s University Springfield, PA
Ryan Gast A/M Mercyhurst University Bristow, VA
Craig DeVoe A/M Nazareth College Loudonville, NY
Mike McCulloch A/M SUNY College Loudonville, NY
Jamie Kerrigan A/M Virginia Tech Ashburn, VA
Jay Grupinkski A/M Marymount University Matawan NJ
Patrick McGee A/M Marymount University Ashburn, VA
Chris Rieley M Lynchburg College Reston, VA
Ali Shams M Marymount University Severn MD
Andy Bullock M SUNY Geneseo Waterford, NY
Karl Baur M/FO West Chester University West Chester, PA
Phil Marchese M St. Joseph’s University Doylestown, PA
Scott Fujiwara M UMBC Ashburn, VA
Steve Field M/D Marymount University Albany, NY
Rob McCracken LSM/M St. Joseph’s University Devon, PA
Jack Morrison D Whittier College (CA) West Chester, PA
Marc Schaffer D St. Joseph’s University Woolwich Twp., NJ
James Fleenor D Marymount University Leesburg, VA
Robert Montague D Marymount University Yardley, PA
Justin Cartwright D/LSM Manhattan College Rensselaer, NY
Cory Munsterteiger D/M Kenyon College Bedford, NH
Rob Del Bene G West Chester CC Albany, NY
Matt Murray G Marymount University Folsom, PA

For more information on the HEADstrong Foundation and to see how you can get involved, please visit headstrong.org.