FCA Honors HEADstrong

The Fellowship of Christian Athletes Lacrosse Ministry is pleased to announce that the recipient of the 2012 Peter Kohn Award is The Colleluori Family.
The Colleluori Family will be presented with the award at the annual FCA Lacrosse Breakfast at the US Lacrosse National Convention. The breakfast will take place on Saturday, Jan. 14 at 7 a.m. at the Philadelphia Marriott (1201 Market Street), in the private dining room of Restaurant 13. For the past 24 years, FCA Lacrosse has hosted a free breakfast to encourage and thank lacrosse coaches for their commitment to the game of lacrosse.

Peter Kohn Award

Peter Kohn was one of the most beloved and unique figures in the lacrosse world. For 50 years Kohn was connected to the sport of lacrosse. A recent subject of a documentary chronicling his life, Kohn started as a field manager for the Park School in Baltimore in 1954. His role as team manager continued with the US National team from 1978 to 1998, the North-South All-Star game for over 25 years, club teams in the United States Club Lacrosse Association for over 20 years, Middlebury College from 1981 to 2003 and numerous other lacrosse events over the years. The lacrosse field at Middlebury was named in his honor and he was previously inducted into the US Lacrosse New England Hall of Fame. Peter served as a volunteer with FCA Lacrosse from 1988 until his recent death in 2009. He was, and still is, one of the most recognized figures within the game of lacrosse.

Every year the Peter Kohn award is given to a member of the lacrosse community who best represents the scripture: “Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.” (John 15:13).

Upon receiving the 2012 Peter Kohn Recipient, Cheryl Colleluori responded: “On behalf of the HEADstrong Foundation and our family, we are truly honored and humbled by receiving this year’s Kohn award. While never having met Peter his legacy lives on through this annual award similarly to the legacy of my son, Nicholas, our HEADstrong founder. Both Peter and Nick possessed a true love of the game and a shared philosophy of putting the interests of others first. They have taught us valuable life lessons. We thank the FCA for recognizing the work of the HEADstrong Foundation and we are truly flattered to join the notable line-up of previous award winners.

Nominations for future award winners can be made at the FCA Lacrosse Breakfast each year, by submitting names to FCA Lacrosse at [email protected] or by calling (443) 212-8131.

If you are interested in attending or sponsoring this year’s FCA Lacrosse Breakfast and the Peter Kohn Award please email FCA Lacrosse at [email protected].

Peter Kohn Award Recipients
1998 – Peter Kohn
1999 – Hank Janczyk
2000 – Buddy Beardmore
2001 – Jim Darcangelo
2002 – Susan Powell
2003 – Bob Scott
2004 – Jerry Schmidt
2005 – Richie Moran
2006 – Jim Grube
2007 – Ed Britton
2008 – Dave Urick
2009 – Richie Meade
2010 – Brad Corrigan
2011 – Dr. Frederick Douglass Opie
2012 – The Colleluori Family